Who We Are


Legal Name: Annapolis, London Town & South County Heritage Area, Inc. (ALTSCHA, Inc.)

Marketing Name: Four Rivers: The Heritage Area of Annapolis, London Town & South County or Four Rivers Heritage Area
Mission: To advance, support and promote the natural, historic and cultural resources of the region.

Four Rivers Board and Coordinating Council (Click Here)

The Four Rivers Heritage Area office is located in the Arundel Center, 44 Calvert Street, Annapolis, MD 21401, Tel. 410-222-1805.

Maryland’s Heritage Areas Map:

Maryland's Heritage Areas

Meet Our Staff:

Carol A. Benson, Ph. D., Executive Director

Benson phoCarol is a heritage professional whose past positions have included Classical art historian, museum curator, university lecturer, and non-profit administrator. She has a Ph. D. in Classical Greek Art History from Princeton University. As a Mellon Curatorial Fellow in Ancient Art at the Walters Art Museum, she planned the reconfiguration and reinstallation of the museum’s Ancient Art collection for renovated galleries. She left the curatorial field in 2000 to develop a heritage-area interpretation program for the Maryland Humanities Council and has worked with Maryland’s heritage areas ever since. She began working with the Four Rivers Heritage Area in 2005, and became Executive Director in January 2008. She serves on the Board of Directors of Visit Annapolis and Anne Arundel County and is the current Vice Chair; she is also on the Board of the Maryland Museums Association. She also serves on the Advisory Council of the Star-Spangled Banner National Historic Trail.


Christina P. Csaszar, Heritage Programs Coordinator

Christina CsaszarChristina has a B.A. in Art History from The Catholic University of America in Washington, D.C.  She has been a Docent and Facilitator at Historic Annapolis and a Gallery Assistant at the Maryland Federation of Art, Circle Gallery in Annapolis. She has a passion for historic preservation and heritage. You can usually find her taking photographs of downtown Annapolis and enjoying the heritage area.




Four Rivers, one of Maryland’s state heritage areas, is an established heritage tourism destination on the Chesapeake Bay’s western shore. With Annapolis, Maryland’s historic capital city, as its “crown jewel”, the Four Rivers Heritage Area stretches from Sandy Point State Park at the Chesapeake Bay Bridge, through southern Anne Arundel County, to Rose Haven at the Calvert County line. Framed by the Chesapeake Bay on the east and by Route 2/Solomon’s Island Road on the west, Four Rivers reflects Maryland’s rich historic, cultural, and natural legacy.

A 501 c 3 nonprofit organization, Four Rivers is also a partnership among the Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, Anne Arundel County, the City of Annapolis, the Town of Highland Beach, and heritage-related organizations and businesses. Our mission is to protect and strengthen the natural, historic, and cultural resources of the heritage area, to nurture their discovery through educational and recreational experiences for visitors and residents, and to promote the region’s rich legacy. As an economic development tool, Four Rivers develops and supports activities and projects that enhance heritage tourism, a growing segment of the lucrative tourism industry.

Visit “StateStat” to view the heritage area boundaries here:

We are a proud member of the Coalition of Heritage Areas:

COHA in circle