Award winners from 2016 are listed below. Click here to see awardees from 2004 through 2015.

(Annapolis) Four Rivers: The Heritage Area of Annapolis, London Town and South County, held its Thirteenth Annual Heritage Awards on Thursday, November 10, 2016, at Quiet Waters Park in Annapolis. These awards recognize individuals, organizations, partnerships, programs and products that contribute significantly to the community by interpreting, promoting, preserving, researching and/or supporting our historical legacy. The honorees have had a lasting impact on authentic stories and experiences at our museums and historic attractions, the sustainability of local organizations, and the preservation of the history and heritage of the local community.

Photo credit: All photos are by Valeu Photography

Four Rivers is pleased to announce the following honorees for 2016:

Heritage Tourism Product Award: This award recognizes an outstanding heritage tourism product created in the past year. Eligible products include exhibits, events, programs, self-guided or guided tours, audiotours, videos/CDs/podcasts, interpretive brochures, publications and websites. The 2016 award recognizes the “Historian Annapolis” Campaign, Visit Annapolis and Anne Arundel County for crafting a powerful, expressive, message about the rich heritage of the region that inspires thousands of visitors to explore our destination.

Heritage Professional of the Year Award: This award recognizes an author, archaeologist, architect, artist, exhibits/publications designer, historian, natural resource professional, preservationist, professional staff person, or researcher, for significant professional contributions to heritage interpretation, stewardship, and/or education in the past year. This year’s award recognizes Valentino Owens of Valeu Photography for his dedication to sharing the impact of local community programs and events through photography.

Heritage Volunteer of the Year Award: This award recognizes an outstanding volunteer who has made a significant difference to the growth, sustainability, programming, or other essential element of a non-profit or for-profit heritage organization. This year’s honoree is Eileen Leahy of the Charles Carroll House of Annapolis for her leadership role in preserving and sustaining this significant local landmark for more than a decade.

Heritage Interpreter of the Year Award: This award recognizes a heritage interpreter-docent, educator, tour guide, volunteer-in a non-profit or for-profit heritage organization, who provides outstanding factual, and educational information to the public. This year’s award recognizes Judith Jones of the Hammond-Harwood House for her significant impact on innovative interpretive programming in a volunteer capacity.

Heritage Partnership Award:  This award recognizes an outstanding regional partnership in heritage interpretation, preservation, stewardship, and/or education. This year’s award goes to Historic Annapolis and Annapolis Tours by Watermark for the “ArchiTrex” walking tour.

The Stewardship Award: This award recognizes an individual, family, organization, or business in the heritage area that demonstrates outstanding leadership in a stewardship capacity. In 2016 the award is given to the Weather it Together Initiative by Mayor Pantelides and the Annapolis City Council, for planning to ensure long-term protection of the resources of the Annapolis Historic District from the effects of sea-level rise.

Public/Private Initiative Award: This award recognizes an outstanding initiative undertaken through a partnership of public and private businesses or organizations to promote local heritage-i.e., historical signage or markers, photographic displays, brochures, tours, etc. This year’s recipient is the City of Annapolis Art in Public Places Commission for the second expanded edition of Art in the City of Annapolis, an outstanding interpretive product that shares the City’s rich artistic heritage.

Heritage Sponsor of the Year Award: This award recognizes a regional business or organization for outstanding sponsorship, patronage or other role in funding one or more heritage-related organizations, events, or products in the past year. The 2016 award is presented to Judi Herrmann of Herrmann Advertising for her generous efforts in support of several local heritage and preservation organizations toward achieving their mission.

Heritage Leadership Award: This award recognizes an individual for significant and long lasting contributions to the community by interpreting, preserving, promoting, researching, and/or supporting local history and heritage. The 2016 Heritage Leadership Award goes to Dorothy Whitman of the Galesville Heritage Society for long-time devotion of her time, energy and passion to ensure the sustainability of the organization.

The Patricia Barland Leadership Award: The 2016 recipients of the award are Ted and Betty Mack, for their vision and leadership in sharing the stories of our communities and weaving them together to create a broader and more inclusive whole.

Four Rivers: The Heritage Area of Annapolis, London Town & South County, one of Maryland’s 13 certified heritage areas, is a partnership among the State of Maryland, Anne Arundel County, the City of Annapolis, the town of Highland Beach, and local historic sites, heritage organizations, and heritage-related businesses, to encourage economic vitality through historic preservation and heritage tourism. For more information, please contact Executive Director Carol Benson.